Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

APRIL 27, 1983
AT THE FOLGER SHAKESPEARE LIBRARY
WASHINGTON, D.C.

THE SEMIANNUAL meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in the Theatre of The Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, April 27, 1983, at 10:45 A.M. The following members were present for all or portions of the meeting: Thomas Richard Anderson, Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., James Morrill Banner, Jr., Clifton Waller Barrett, Philip Charles Beals, Karl Lombard Briel, John Caruthers Broderick, Clement Ellis Conger, Bruce Goddard Daniels, William Curtis Carroll Davis, Jerome Melvin Edelstein, Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Alan Maxwell Fern, Percy William Filby, George Talbot Goodspeed, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Osborne Bennett Hardison, Jr., Elizabeth Massey Harris, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Brooke Hindle, Everett Harold Hugo, John Melville Jennings, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Gordon Willis Jones, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, Joseph Alberic Leo Lemay, Irving Lowens, John Morris McClelland, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Neil MacNeil, James Robert Maguire, John William Matheson, John William Middendorf, II, Amy Bess Williams Miller, Lawrence Kelton Miller, James Eugene Mooney, Kenneth Nebenzahl, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., William Sherman Reese, Betty Ruth Abrego Ring, George Calvin Rogers, Jr., Samuel Robert Rosenthal, Robert Allen

Rutland, Morris Harold Saffron, Duane Thomas Sargisson, Charles Henry Sawyer, Hope Hartwell Spear, David Harry Stam, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, William Francis Sullivan, George Thomas Tanselle, David Frederic Tatham, John William Ward, Robert Mark Warner, Wilcomb Edward Washburn, and John Wilmerding.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the annual meeting of October 20, 1982, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Elisabeth Ball, died April 29, 1982, elected October 1962 Robert Earle Moody, died April 4, 1983, elected April 1953 Stuart Capen Sherman, died April 8, 1983, elected October 1966

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison. Then, Mr. Jeppson reported on the progress of the Society's *Isaiab Thomas Fund: A 175th Anniversary Program*, which stands at \$3,537,464. Of that amount \$698,392 was added during the present fiscal year. He complimented the committee chairmen, Robert P. Hallock, Jr., Homer D. Babbidge, Jr., and Francis H. Dewey, III, for their leadership. Mr. Jeppson pointed out that \$2,151,080 had been contributed by foundations, corporations, and individuals of the Worcester community.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society, Messrs. Matheson and Washburn acting as tellers: William Frederick Boni, Gray Davis Boone, Nancy Falik Cott, Robert Choate Darnton, Hendrik Edelman, George M. Fredrickson, John Colton Greene, Warren James Haas, Paul Horgan, Richard Malcolm Ketchum, Bruce Le Roy, Anne Murray Morgan, Francis Paul Prucha, Calvin Peter Otto, and John Clark Woodbury.

John Wilmerding, deputy director of the National Gallery of Art, presented an illustrated lecture entitled 'American Light, the Luminist Movement, 1850–1875.'

The meeting was adjourned at 12:15 P.M. and was followed by refreshments in the Great Hall of the Library. Members and guests were the guests of Mr. and Mrs. O. B. Hardison, Jr.

On Tuesday afternoon, April 26, members and guests were conducted on a tour of the Diplomats' Reception Rooms of the Department of State under the guidance of Clement E. Conger. The tour was followed by refreshments as guests of Ambassador and Mrs. J. William Middendorf, II, and the Honorable Julian L. Lapides and Mrs. Lapides. During the Wednesday morning meeting of the Society at The Folger Shakespeare Library, guests of members toured the National Gallery of Art in order to view the exhibition Raphael and America. Following the meeting and luncheon, members and guests were conducted through the White House under the leadership of Mr. Conger.

G. Thomas Tanselle Recording Secretary, pro tem

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.