## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 19, 1977 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY WORCESTER

 $T_{ exttt{HE}}$  one hundred sixty-fifth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held on the above date in Antiquarian Hall in Worcester, Massachusetts, at 10:54 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Natalie Johnson Allen, Mortimer Herbert Appley, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Daniel Farber, Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Ebenezer Gay, Peter Jay Guthorn, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Sr., George William Hazzard, Milton Prince Higgins, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Everett Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Albert Thomas Klyberg, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Joseph Alberic Leo Lemay, Gerda Lerner, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., James Robert Maguire, Gertrude Robinson Mallary, Marcus Allen McCorison, David Milton Kendall McKibbin, Philip James McNiff, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Robert Earle Moody, Peter Shepard Morgan, Weld Morgan, Ray Nash, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Barnes Riznik, Ivan Sandrof, Charles Henry Sawyer, Leonard Benjamin Schlosser, Herbert Trafton Silsby, Lewis Morgrage Stark, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, George Thomas Tanselle, Robert Joseph Taylor, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Michael Joseph Walsh, Ruth Dyer Wells, Charles Harris Wesley, Nathaniel Wheeler, James Russell Wiggins, and Richard James Wolfe.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 20, 1977, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Milton Halsey Thomas
Pierce Welch Gaines
Frederick Merk
Arthur Bernon Tourtellot
July 7, 1977
July 9, 1977
September 24, 1977
October 18, 1977

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. These reports were accepted and referred to the Committee on Publications.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Messrs. Guthorn and Silsby as tellers: Joseph Ray Carter, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Charles Christian Haffner III, Joseph Welles Henderson, Jr., Alvin M. Josephy, Jr., Robert Keiser Massey, Robert Lincoln McNeil, Jr., Robert Allen Rutland, Kenneth Eugene Silverman, Kathryn Kish Sklar, Frank Henry Teagle, Jr., and James M. Wells.

J. A. Leo Lemay presented a paper entitled 'The Frontiersman: From Lout to Hero.'

President Wiggins read a resolution adopted by the Council of the Society in recognition of the years of service of Keyes DeWitt Metcalf as a member of the Council and as Secretary for Foreign Correspondence:

WHEREAS KEYES DEWITT METCALF was elected in October 1937 to membership in the American Antiquarian Society; and whereas

KEYES DEWITT METCALF has been a valued comrade for these four decades past, and now ranks fourth among his colleagues in seniority; and whereas

KEYES DEWITT METCALF has served as a Member of the Council since 1954, as Vice-President from 1971 to 1973, and as Secretary for Foreign Correspondence since 1974, and during that time has freely shared with us his extensive knowledge as one of the nation's most eminent philosophers and builders of libraries, both bricks and books; and whereas

KEYES DEWITT METCALF on October 19, 1977, steps down from the Council and the Secretaryship where he has so ably served for so long; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society gratefully acknowledge the long and superior service of our distinguished colleague and wish him Godspeed; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to our good friend, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, let these sentiments be made known.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Mr. Dewey as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-President, Bernard Bailyn; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Walter Muir Whitehill; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Robert Waring Stoddard; Councillors, James Russell Wiggins, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., Robert Bruce Hitchman, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Jules David Prown, and John William Ward.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

Mr. Wiggins thanked the Society for having been able to serve as its President and presented Mr. Jeppson as the new President. Mr. Jeppson read the following resolution in recognition of Mr. Wiggins's service to the Society as President, which was adopted unanimously:

WHEREAS JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS, newspaperman, diplomat, and friend, has been since April 1963 an energetic and valuable member of the American Antiquarian Society; and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS has given sound advice and support to his colleagues in our venerable Society as a Member of the Council since October 1967 and as Vice-President from October 1969 to October 1970; and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS has since October 1970 served as the esteemed President of the Society and given freely of himself as its leader during a period of unprecedented expansion of its influence in the scholarly and humanistic life of the nation; and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS on October 19, 1977, relinquishes to other hands the leadership of our Society; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society express their deepest gratitude to their distinguished colleague for his exceptional service, wish him Godspeed and the strength to symbolically pull at the bar of the common press that he loves so well for many more years, and give thanks that they will continue to benefit from his warmth, wit, and wisdom; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to James Russell Wiggins let these sentiments be made known.

The meeting adjourned at 12:24 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as the guests of W. Douglas Bell. In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson also thanked Mr. and Mrs. Frank L. Harrington for the refreshments which preceded the dinner held at the Plaza Club in Worcester for members and guests of the Society.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.