Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

APRIL 16, 1980 BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY BOSTON

 ${
m T}_{
m HE\ SEMIANNUAL}$ meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in the Rabb Lecture Hall of the Boston Public Library, Boston, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, April 16, 1980, at 11:04 A.M. with the following members present: Rodney Armstrong, James Franklin Beard, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, John Edward Brooks, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Roger Butterfield, John Whitin Curtis, John Daniel Cushing, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Joseph Worth Estes, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, George Edmund Gifford, George Talbot Goodspeed, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., William Henry Harrison, Sinclair Hamilton Hitchings, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Henry Hornblower II, Everett Harold Hugo, John Jeppson, 2nd, Harold Lancour, Mills Bee Lane IV, Saundra Baker Lane, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., James Robert Maguire, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, Gertrude Robinson Mallary, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James McNiff, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Amy Bess Williams Miller, Lawrence Kelton Miller, Peter Shepard Morgan, Andrew Oliver, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Stephen Thomas Riley, Stuart Capen Sherman, Frank Oakman Spinney, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, George Thomas Tanselle, Robert Joseph Taylor, Louis Leonard Tucker, Alden True Vaughan, Michael Joseph Walsh, Ruth Dyer Wells, James Russell Wiggins, John Wilmerding, and Richard James Wolfe.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 17, 1979, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Lyle Henry Wright	November 24, 1979
Bertram Wallace Korn	December 11, 1979
Merrill Monroe Jensen	January 30, 1980
Ernest Stanley Dodge	February 9, 1980

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Armstrong and Dr. Estes as tellers: James Brugler Bell, Kenneth Edward Carpenter, Clement Ellis Conger, Loren Frank Ghiglione, Neil Harris, Ernest S. Hayeck, C. Peter McColough, Rodman Wilson Paul, George C. Rogers, William Vincent Shannon, Eleanor M. Tilton, Anthony Francis Clarke Wallace, Stephen David Weissman, and Eunice Wheeler.

Alden T. Vaughan presented a paper entitled 'Crossing the Cultural Divide: Indians and Puritans, 1605–1760.'

In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson thanked the Boston Public Library and its librarian, Philip J. McNiff, for the use of the Library's facilities for the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at the Copley Plaza Hotel as the guests of Frederic C. Dumaine.

Linwood M. Erskine Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.