## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 15, 1980 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

 ${
m T}_{
m H\,E}$  one hundred sixty-eighth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in Antiquarian Hall on Wednesday, October 15, 1980, at 10:46 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Karl John Richard Arndt, William Nathaniel Banks, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., James Franklin Beard, George Athan Billias, Robert Welles Booth, Karl Lombard Briel, John Edward Brooks, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, Kenneth Edward Carpenter, Robert Cushman, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, Loren Frank Ghiglione, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, William Henry Harrison, Ernest Spero Hayeck, George William Hazzard, Jacob Hiatt, Milton Prince Higgins, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Everett Harold Hugo, John Jeppson, 2nd, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Richard Cory Kugler, Howard Roberts Lamar, Harold Lancour, Saundra Baker Lane, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Weld Morgan, Stephen Thomas Riley, Stuart Capen Sherman, Frank Oakman Spinney, Roger Eliot Stoddard, David Frederic Tatham, Robert Joseph Taylor, Louis Leonard Tucker, Charles van Ravenswaay, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Stephen David Weissman, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. It was voted to omit the reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 16, 1980. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

> Leonard Woods Labaree May 5, 1980 Howard Mumford Jones May 11, 1980 Julian Parks Boyd May 28, 1980

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison, and, in the absence of Mr. Daniels, the report of the Treasurer was read by Mr. Jeppson. Both reports were accepted.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Messrs. Adams and Weissman as tellers: Joan Toland Bok, John Christie Dann, Hedley Williams Donovan, Edith Pratt Ewing, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Ronald Paul Formisano, Nathan Irvin Huggins, Patricia Miller King, Donald Robert Melville, Barbara Jane Novak, Merritt Roe Smith, William Osgood Taylor, and Harold Edward Woodward.

The report of the Committee on Nominations was presented by Mr. Cushman as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour and John William Ward; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Robert Bruce Hitchman; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Councillors, James Russell Wiggins, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Philip Charles Beals, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Jack Phillip Greene, James Robert Maguire, Leonard Benjamin Schlosser, Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Robert Cushman, and Harold Taylor Miller.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. The ballot having been cast, the slate of officers and council members was declared elected.

Robert J. Taylor presented a paper entitled 'The Construction of the Massachusetts Constitution and Its Relationship to Prevailing Political Theory and Practice.'

Mr. Jeppson read a resolution that had been adopted by the Council in honor of Mr. Dewey upon his retirement as a member of the Council, as follows:

Whereas Henry Bowen Dewey was elected on April 20, 1966, to membership in the American Antiquarian Society; and whereas

Henry Bowen Dewey is the fourth Williams-educated, lawyer Dewey to join the ranks of this venerable institution of learning and advanced research; and whereas

Henry Bowen Dewey has served with distinction as a Councillor since 1972 but now wishes to step aside from this office in order to devote more time to the cultivation of a neighboring garden; now therefore

Be it resolved that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society acknowledge with grateful thanks the careful stewardship that Harry Dewey has given its affairs these last eight years, wish him well in all he chooses to do, and express the wish that they may continue to avail themselves of his wise counsel and great friendship; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to our colleague Henry Bowen Dewey let these sentiments be made known.

In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson thanked Mr. McCorison and the staff of the Society on behalf of the membership for their efforts during the past year and commented upon some of the goals and needs of the Society for the coming years.

The meeting adjourned at 12:18 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at 4 Military Road as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.