## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 19, 1983 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

 ${
m T}_{ exttt{HE}}$  one hundred seventy-first annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library Building of the Society on Wednesday, October 19, 1983, at 10:48 A.M. with the following members present: Robert Comey Achorn, Thomas Randolph Adams, John Eliot Alden, William Nathaniel Banks, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Jr., William Henry Bond, William Frederick Boni, Karl Lombard Briel, John W. Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Francis Henshaw Dewey, III, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Joseph Worth Estes, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Norman Fiering, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., George William Hazzard, James Joseph Heslin, Everett Harold Hugo, Genevieve Rogers Weeks Ireland, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Julian Lee Lapides, Bruce Le Roy, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., John Morris McClelland, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Harold Taylor Miller, John Odlin Mirick, Anne Murray Morgan, Weld Morgan, Kenneth Nebenzahl, Calvin Peter Otto, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Francis Paul Prucha, Betty Ruth Abrego Ring, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Herbert Trafton Silsby II, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Thaddeus Wilbur Tate, David Frederick Tatham, Robert Joseph Taylor, Charles van Ravenswaay, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Glenn Weaver, Stephen David Weissman, James Russell Wiggins, Gordon Stewart Wood, Peter Hutchins Wood, John Clark Woodbury, Harold Edward Woodward, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 27, 1983, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

> Lammot du Pont Copeland July 1, 1983 Howard Bonar Jefferson October 1, 1983 Forrest Wilson Seymour October 3, 1983

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. Both reports were accepted.

Mr. Jeppson read the following resolution of the Council honoring James Russell Wiggins upon Mr. Wiggins' retirement as a Councillor:

WHEREAS JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS has since April 1963 been one of the American Antiquarian Society's most useful and dedicated members, and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS served as this ancient Society's President from 1970 to 1977, and on his retirement from the office received the plaudits of a grateful membership; and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS remained at the service of the Society as a Councillor, dispensing warmth, wit and wisdom at every gathering; and whereas

JAMES RUSSELL WIGGINS now chooses to leave the Council after sixteen years of continuous service; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Anti-

quarian Society reiterate its expression of deepest gratitude to the eminent member from Maine for his years of selfless service, wish him Godspeed in all his works, and trust that it can still rely on his friendship and advice; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to James Russell Wiggins let these sentiments be made known.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Achorn and Mr. McClelland serving as tellers: Ruth E. Adomeit, Richard J. Flynn, Ralph W. Franklin, William H. Gerdts, Jeremiah Kaplan, William Shield McFeely, Robert Lawrence Middlekauff, Marion Stedman Palm, Merrill Daniel Peterson, Barbara Sudler, Robert E. Tranquada, Gene Waddel, William Bradford Willcox, William Forrest Winter, and Mary Elizabeth Young.

Mr. Jeppson reported that the first phase goal of the Isaiah Thomas Fund had been reached.

The report of the Committee on Nominations was presented by Mr. Knowlton as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, John William Ward; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Councillors, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, James Robert Maguire, Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Robert Cushman, Harold Taylor Miller, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Jacob Hiatt, Kenneth Nebenzahl, Julian Lee Lapides, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, and David Frederick Tatham.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED: That the Secretary cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. The ballot having been cast, the slate of officers and council members was declared elected.

Thad W. Tate, Jr., presented a paper entitled 'The Discovery and Development of the Southern Colonial Landscape.'

The meeting was adjourned at 12:07 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as the guests of Mr. & Mrs. McCorison at 4 Military Road in Worcester and a luncheon at the Goddard-Daniels House at 190 Salisbury Street in Worcester.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.