Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 17, 1990 GODDARD-DANIELS HOUSE, WORCESTER

THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY-EIGHTH annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Society's Goddard-Daniels House, 190 Salisbury Street, Worcester, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, October 17, 1990, at 3:30 P.M., with the following members present: Charles Beach Barlow, Philip Charles Beals, George Athan Billias, Karl Lombard Briel, Mary Elizabeth Brown, Nancy Hall Burkett, Mary Valentine Crowley Callahan, Richard Byron Collins, Jill Ker Conway, Edward Denis Crowley, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Margery MacNeale Dearborn, Everette Eugene Dennis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Malcolm Freiberg, Loren Frank Ghiglione, Joseph Henry Hagan, Robert Palmer Hallock, James Harley Harrington, John Bixler Hench, Michael Charles Janeway, John Jeppson, 2nd, Florence Marie Jumonville, Jeremiah Kaplan, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Warren C. Lane, Jr., Julian Lee Lapides, Linda Zeva Fishman Lapides, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Richard Manney, Robert Keiser Massey, James Eugene Mooney, Anne Murray Morgan, Kenneth James Moynihan, Calvin Peter Otto, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Cynthia Nelson Pitcher, Jules David Prown, Stephen Thomas Riley, Penelope Booth Rockwell, Duane Thomas Sargisson, John Douglas Seelye, Albert Brown Southwick, Billups Phinizy Spaulding, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Helen Estabrook Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, David Frederic Tatham, Sumner Burnham Tilton, Jr., Louis Leonard Tucker, Peter Howard Creagh Williams, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

Chairman Conway presided. The reading of the minutes of the semiannual meeting of April 18, 1990, was waived, and the minutes were approved as circulated. Chairman Conway reported the following changes in membership:

James Jeffrey Fuld, resigned April 25, 1990 Lewis Gaston Leary, died May 1, 1990 Joseph Blumenthal, died July 11, 1990 James David Hart, died July 23, 1990 Brooks Geer Ragen, resigned August 8, 1990 Lawrence Arthur Cremin, died September 4, 1990

The report of the Treasurer was presented by Mr. Williams.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society, with Mr. Harrington and Mrs. Morgan acting as tellers: Georgia Brady Barnhill, William Robert Burleigh, Patricia Cline Cohen, Ronald Sears Davis, Janet Ireland Delorey, Robert Francis Erburu, Elizabeth Ann Fox-Genovese, Carl Frederick Kaestle, William Alfred Newsom, Harry Stober Stout III, and Richard Paul Traina.

Mr. McCorison presented the report of the Council and responded to questions concerning the Society's recent achievements and its planning efforts. Mr. Billias led the members in a standing ovation for Mr. McCorison.

Mr. Briel presented the report of the Committee on Nominations as follows: Chairman, 1990–91, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway; Vice-Chairman, 1990–91, Harold Taylor Miller; Councillors, 1991–93, James Harley Harrington, Julian Lee Lapides, Catherine Jean McDonough, Richard Manney, John Douglas Seelye, and Roger Eliot Stoddard. There being no further nominations, it was moved and voted to accept the report and to elect the slate as nominated.

Chairman Conway observed that planning was under way to institute a search for a president to succeed Mr. McCorison at his retirement in the autumn of 1992, and she welcomed his willingness to serve the Society as a consultant in future years. She

expressed the membership's pride in the many-faceted, distinguished accomplishments of the Society's staff and read from letters recently received from readers who praised the Society's collections and personnel.

The meeting adjourned at 4:18 P.M., and was followed by a lecture presented to members and guests in Antiquarian Hall on the subject 'The American Journalist: Fiction Versus Fact,' by Loren F. Ghiglione. At the conclusion of the lecture, members and others gathered at the Tatnuck Country Club for refreshments as guests of Richard Manney, followed by dinner.

David F. Tatham Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.