Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

APRIL 24, 1999
BOSTON ATHENAEUM

THE SEMIANNUAL MEETING of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Boston Athenaeum on Saturday, April 24, 1999, at 3:00 P.M. with the following members present: Charles Beach Barlow, Georgia Brady Barnhill, Robert Charles Baron, Philip Charles Beals, George Athan Billias, Bailey Bishop, George Francis Booth II, Karl Lombard Briel, Richard David Brown, Lawrence Fogler Buckland, Nancy Hall Burkett, Randall Keith Burkett, Mary Valentine Crowley Callahan, Kenneth Edward Carpenter, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Margery MacNeil Dearborn, William Phillips Densmore, Henry Bowen Dewey, Jane Kenah Dewey, James Corcoran Donnelly, Jr., Ellen Smith Dunlap, William Fowler, Jr., Wayne Steven Franklin, Malcolm Freiberg, David Richard Godine, Louis Allan Goodman, John Bixler Hench, John Herron, John Herron, Jr., Cheryl Hurley, M Howard Jacobson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Wilson H. Kimnach, Julian Lee Lapides, Linda Zeva Fishman Lapides, Norman Bernard Leventhal, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Weyman Ivan Lundquist, Marcus Allen McCorison, Catherine Jean Mc-Donough, Harold Taylor Miller, Anne Murray Morgan, Avon Neal, Donald Frederick Nelson, Jane Cayford Nylander, Paul Revere O'Connell, Jr., Calvin Peter Otto, Ann Parker, Cynthia Nelson Pitcher, Arthur F. Schrader, Willman Spawn, Charles Joseph Tanenbaum, George William Tetler III, David Russell Warrington, Barbara Weisberg, Meridith Daniels Wesby, Peter Howard Creagh Williams, and Charles Bradley Wood III.

Chairman Robert C. Baron presided. The reading of the minutes of the Annual Meeting of October 21, 1998, was waived, and the minutes were approved as circulated. Mr. Baron reported as changes in membership the following:

John Richard Bullock, died November 1, 1998, elected April 1984

Natalie Johnson Roderick, died November 17, 1998, elected April 1976

Helen Estabrook Stoddard, died November 28, 1998, elected April 1985

Oliver Ormerod Jensen, resigned December 8, 1998, elected October 1974

Helen Hartman Gemmell, died December 11, 1998, elected October 1985

Alexander James Wall, Jr., died January 8, 1999, elected April 1956

Paul Mellon, died February 1, 1999, elected April 1967

Hope Hartwell Spear, died February 3, 1999, elected October 1982

Charles Blitzer, died February 19, 1999, elected October 1985 Harry Andrew Blackmun, died March 4, 1999, elected October 1987

Edward Denis Crowley, died March 7, 1999, elected October 1984

Donald Francis McKenzie, died March 22, 1999, elected April 1995

Mr. Baron gave the report of the membership committee, and the following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society, with John Hench and David Warrington acting as tellers: Hiram Anthony Bingham, Barbara Pierce Bush, Scott Evan Casper, Jeffrey David Groves, Donald Andrew Heald, Augusta Holmstock Kressler, John Matthew Murrin, Ann-Cathrine Rapp, Caroline Fearey Schimmel, Charles Edward Sigety, Jay Thomas

Snider, Daniel Grant Tear, William Dean Wallace, Michael David Warner, Mary Elizabeth Saracino Zboray, and Ronald John Zboray.

The Report of the Treasurer was presented by James C. Donnelly, Jr.

Mrs. Dunlap gave the Report of the Council.

Mr. Baron introduced Jane C. Nylander, president of the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities, who would deliver the lecture 'Isaiah Thomas's Boston' following the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 P.M.

Meridith Daniels Wesby Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.