## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 17, 1979 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY WORCESTER

 $\mathbf{T}_{ ext{H}\, ext{E}}$  one hundred sixty-seventh annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in Antiquarian Hall in Worcester, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, October 17, 1979, at 10:45 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Eliot Alden, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, William Nathaniel Banks, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, William Bentinck-Smith, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Robert Welles Booth, Karl Lombard Briel, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Jerome Melvin Edelstein, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Daniel Farber, Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Percy William Filby, George Edmund Gifford, Jr., George Talbot Goodspeed, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., George William Hazzard, Howell Johnson Heaney, Jacob Hiatt, Milton Prince Higgins, John Higham, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Everett Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Richard Cory Kugler, Harold Lancour, Saundra Baker Lane, Bertram Kimball Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Robert Keiser Massey, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Robert Earle Moody, Peter Shepard Morgan, Weld Morgan, James Hastings

Nichols, Stephen Thomas Riley, Natalie Johnson Roderick, Stuart Capen Sherman, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, David Frederic Tatham, Robert Joseph Taylor, Louis Leonard Tucker, Richard James Wolfe, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 18, 1979, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Lessing Julius Rosenwald
June 25, 1979

John Cardinal Wright

Maxwell H. Savelle

John Nicholas Brown

June 25, 1979

August 10, 1979

August 12, 1979

October 9, 1979

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. The report of the Treasurer was accepted by vote.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mrs. Buhler and Mr. Kugler as tellers: Sydney Eckman Ahlstrom, John Edward Brooks, William Curtis Carroll Davis, Louise Doyle, J. Worth Estes, Donald R. Friary, Russell W. Fridley, Jenkins Garrett, Anne Firor Scott, Leo Matthew Weins, Peter Winkworth, Peter H. Wood, and Larzer Ziff.

President Jeppson read resolutions adopted by the Council in honor of retiring Council members Bernard Bailyn, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, and Robert Waring Stoddard, as follows:

Whereas Bernard Bailyn has been since October 1960 a distinguished member of the American Antiquarian Society; and whereas

Bernard Bailyn has performed valuable duty to the Society through his service, including chairmanship, on the Committees on Publications and on Fellowships, as a Councillor since 1969, and as Vice-President since 1972; and whereas

Bernard Bailyn has further served the Society well by helping edit the Society's forthcoming volume of scholarly essays on The Press and the American Revolution; and whereas

Bernard Bailyn has relinquished the Vice-Presidency and his position on the Council to other hands; now therefore

Be it resolved that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society express its gratitude to Bernard Bailyn for his many years of able official service to it, wish him well in whatever he chooses to do, and voice its hope that the Society may continue to profit from the depth of his scholarship and the sageness of his advice in less formal ways for many years in the future; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to Bernard Bailyn let these sentiments be made known.

Whereas Cecelia Marie Kenyon was elected to membership in the American Antiquarian Society at the Annual Meeting in 1965; and whereas

Cecelia Marie Kenyon has actively promoted the Society's well-being through service on the Committees on the American Revolution Bicentennial and on Fellowships (the latter as chairman) and as a member of the Council; and whereas

Cecelia Marie Kenyon has retired from the Council after five years of valuable service; now therefore

Be it resolved that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society record its deepest gratitude to Cecelia Marie Kenyon for the able services she has rendered this venerable Society; and note its deep wish that it may continue to profit from her knowledge and advice in unofficial ways in the future; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to Cecelia Marie Kenyon let these sentiments be made known.

Whereas Robert Waring Stoddard for sixteen years past has upheld the long tradition of leadership in the affairs of our ancient American Antiquarian Society by distinguished citizens of Worcester; and whereas

Robert Waring Stoddard has carried out that leadership through valuable service on the Committees on Nominations, on the Hall, and on Development, as a Councillor for fourteen years, and as Secretary for Foreign Correspondence for two; and whereas

Robert Waring Stoddard also has given of himself to the Society in many ways that this roll call of formal services does not denote; and whereas

Robert Waring Stoddard has regrettably retired from the Council; now therefore

Be it resolved that the Council of the American Antiquarian So-

ciety record its deep thanks to Robert Waring Stoddard for the steady, dependable attention to its affairs that he has exercised for so many years and express the hope that the Society may count on his neighborly concern for its welfare in the years to come; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to Robert Waring Stoddard let these sentiments be made known.

The report of the Committee on Nominations was presented by George E. Gifford as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour and John William Ward; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Robert Bruce Hitchman; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Councillors, James Russell Wiggins, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Jack Phillip Greene, James Robert Maguire, Leonard Benjamin Schlosser, Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, and Robert Cushman.

Upon motion duly seconded it was unanimously

VOTED To cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

David F. Tatham presented an illustrated paper entitled 'Winslow Homer and the New England Poets: An Episode in the History of American Book Illustration.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:10 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at 4 Military Road as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.