Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 15, 1986 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

THE one hundred seventy-fourth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library Building of the Society on Wednesday, October 15, 1986, at 10:47 A.M. with the following members present: Charles Beach Barlow, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Jr., William Bentinck-Smith, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, Allen Perdue Britton, John Edward Brooks, Mary Elizabeth Brown, Augustus George Bullock, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Catherine Mary Fennelly, Ralph William Franklin, Howard Gilbert Freeman, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, John Colton Greene, Archibald Hanna, Jr., George William Hazzard, Howell Johnson Heaney, John Bixler Hench, Genevieve Rogers Weeks Ireland, Frederick Herbert Jackson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Gordon Willis Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Saundra Baker Lane, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, John Peter McDonald, Philip James McNiff, James Robert Maguire, Russell Elliott Manoog, Robert Keiser Massey, Anne Murray Morgan, Kenneth James Moynihan, Stephen Willner Nissenbaum, Calvin Peter Otto, Hall James Peterson, Stephen Thomas Riley, John Douglas Seelye, Willman Spawn,

Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, William Francis Sullivan, David Frederic Tatham, Herbert Mason Varnum, Glenn Weaver, Osgood Bradley Wood, and John Clark Woodbury.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 16, 1986, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of William Henry Harrison on July 3 and Stephen W. Botein on June 24, 1986, and asked for a moment of contemplation in their memory.

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. Both reports were accepted.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Ms. Fennelly and Mr. Spawn serving as tellers: Millicent Demmin Abell, Albert Edward Cowdrey, Henry Richard Dietrich, Jr., Joseph Daniel Early, Dorothy Brewer Erikson, Timothy Carter Forbes, Milton Martin Klein, Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Ivor Noël Hume, Richard Sidney Slotkin, Sumner Burnham Tilton, Jr., and Thurston Twigg-Smith.

Mr. Manoog presented the report of the Committee on Nominations as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Councillors, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Robert Cushman, Harold Taylor Miller, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jacob Hiatt, Julian Lee Lapides, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, David Frederic Tatham, John Munro Woolsey, Jr., James Robert Maguire, Betty Ruth Ring, and Barbara Welch Sudler.

There being no further nominations, it was voted to accept the report and to elect the slate as nominated. Jill Ker Conway then presented a paper entitled 'Utopian Dream or Dystopian Nightmare? Nineteenth-Century Feminist Ideas about Equality.'

In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson reported that approximately \$1,100,000 in additional pledges or contributions would be needed within the next year to complete the goal of the Isaiah Thomas Fund by the 175th anniversary of the founding of the Society.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 P.M., to be followed by refreshments as guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison at Rice House and luncheon at the Goddard-Daniels House at 190 Salisbury Street in Worcester.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.