Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 19, 1988 GODDARD-DANIELS HOUSE, WORCESTER

THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY-SIXTH annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Society's Goddard-Daniels House, 100 Salisbury Street, Worcester, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, October 19, 1988, at 4:07 P.M., with the following members present: Robert Comey Achorn, Ruth Elizabeth Adomeit, Frederick Scouller Allis, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Jr., George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, Mary Elizabeth Brown, Richard David Brown, Mary Valentine Crowley Callahan, Edward Carlos Carter II, Charles Edwin Clark, Jill Ker Conway, Edward Denis Crowley, Charles Thomas Cullen, John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Hagop Martin Deranian, Henry Bowen Dewey, Dorothy Brewer Erikson, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Howard Gilbert Freeman, Donald Richard Friary, Loren Frank Ghiglione, William Harry Goetzmann, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Joseph Henry Hagan, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Ernest Spero Hayeck, Howell Johnson Heaney, John Bixler Hench, Jacob Hiatt, Oliver Ormerod Jensen, John Jeppson, 2nd, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, Richard Manney, Russell Elliott Manoog, Harold Taylor Miller, Anne Murray Morgan, Kenneth James Moynihan, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Richard Prouty, Jules David Prown, Penelope Booth Rockwell, Charles Henry Sawyer, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Helen Estabrook Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, William Francis Sullivan, George Thomas Tanselle, David Frederic Tatham, Louis Leonard Tucker, Glenn Weaver, Osgood Bradley Wood, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Conway presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 20, 1988, was waived and the minutes were approved as circulated. President Conway reported the following changes in membership:

Frank Leighton Harrington, Sr., died April 21, 1988 Henry Bradley Martin, died April 23, 1988 Josiah Kirby Lilly III, resigned May 3, 1988 William Frederick Boni, resigned May 10, 1988 William V. Shannon, died September 27, 1988

The report of the Treasurer was presented by Mr. Daniels and the report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mrs. Callahan and Mr. Manney acting as tellers: William John Cronon, Thomas Main Doerflinger, David Richard Godine, John James McCusker, Forrest McDonald, Catherine Jean McDonough, Lillian Beresnack Miller, Kathryn Lee Conway Preyer, Barbara Jo Anne Harris Taylor, Robert Howard Wetzel, Barbara Ketcham Wheaton, Don Whitman Wilson, and Don Yoder.

Mr. Jeppson presented the report of the Committee on Nominations as follows: President, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Harold Taylor Miller; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, David Frederic Tatham; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Councillors, John Jeppson, 2nd, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Jacob Hiatt, Julian Lee Lapides, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, John Munro Woolsey, Jr.,

144

James Robert Maguire, Betty Ruth Ring, Barbara Welch Sudler, Joan Toland Bok, and Jeremiah Kaplan.

There being no further nominations, it was voted to accept the report and to elect the slate as nominated.

Before closing the meeting, President Conway read the following resolutions adopted by the Council recognizing the services of Robert Cushman and Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.:

WHEREAS ROBERT CUSHMAN, distinguished businessman, worthy counselor, and loyal friend, has served the American Antiquarian Society as a member faithfully since April 17, 1974; and whereas

ROBERT CUSHMAN conscientiously discharged the duties of Councillor from October 17, 1979, with wisdom and with dedication to advance the welfare of this Society; and whereas

ROBERT CUSHMAN accepted the onerous responsibility as chairman of the National Committee of the Isaiah Thomas Fund campaign, diligently traveling far and wide to solicit for the Society's endowment funds; and whereas

ROBERT CUSHMAN, despite the supplications of his colleagues, has retired from the Council of the Society on this day; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Officers, Councillors, and Members of the American Antiquarian Society do hereby record their deep sense of satisfaction and obligations of gratitude to their friend for his superior services to our honorable institution, thank him for his sturdy loyalty and agreeable companionship, and in so doing convey to the said CUSHMAN their best wishes for his successful pursuit of diminutive spheroids under continuously cloudless southern skies and for his progress toward a peaceful and gratifying old age that will be free from the travails of institutional responsibilities and incessant rounds of fund raising; and upon the records of the Society let this Resolution be spread and to ROBERT CUSHMAN let these sentiments made known.

Agreed to this nineteenth day of October, in the year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight in the City of Worcester, Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

WHEREAS LINWOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., prominent member of Worcester's bar and friend to history, was

elected to membership in the American Antiquarian Society at the semiannual meeting in 1961; and whereas

LINWOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., served with distinction as a Councillor of the Society from 1965 to 1967 and as a member of the Committee on Development from 1968 to 1976; and whereas

LINWOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., has added his name alongside those of Edward Everett Hale, George Parker Winship, and Daniel Waldo Lincoln in rendering valuable service to this venerable learned society as its Recording Secretary; and whereas

LINWOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., — this faithful chronicler of proceedings, vigilant keeper of constitution and bylaws, and gentle counselor—today steps down from Society office after twenty-three years; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Officers, Councillors, and Members of the American Antiquarian Society do hereby congratulate LIN-WOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., for his exemplary stewardship, voice its gratitude to him for that friendly aid conscientiously rendered, and wish him many more mountains to climb, gardens to cultivate, and wood to chop; and upon the records of the Society let this Resolution be inscribed and to LINWOOD MANDEVILLE ERSKINE, JR., let these sentiments be made known.

Agreed to this nineteenth day of October, in the year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight in the City of Worcester, Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

The meeting adjourned at 4:42 P.M. to be followed by a paper to be presented by William H. Goetzmann entitled 'Exploration and Early American Culture' at the library building of the Society and refreshments as guests of Mr. and Mrs. Karl L. Briel and a dinner at the Plaza Club, 440 Main Street, Worcester, Massachusetts.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. *Recording Secretary*

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.