Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 17, 1984 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

 $\mathbf{T}_{ ext{HE}}$ one hundred seventy-second annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library Building of the Society on Wednesday, October 17, 1984, at 10:45 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Eliot Alden, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Jr., William Henry Bond, Robert Welles Booth, Karl Lombard Briel, Augustus George Bullock, John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Francis Henshaw Dewey, III, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Joseph Worth Estes, Daniel Farber, Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., George William Hazzard, Everett Harold Hugo, Genevieve Rogers Weeks Ireland, Frederick Herbert Jackson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, Crawford Lincoln, Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James McNiff, James Robert Maguire, Robert Keiser Massey, Anne Murray Morgan, Mary Beth Norton, Calvin Peter Otto, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Dorothy Burnett Porter, Stephen Thomas Riley, Duane Thomas Sargisson, Seymour Ira Schwartz, John Douglas Seelye, Betsy Beinecke Shirley, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, William Francis Sullivan, Eugene Garland Waddell, Alexander James Wall, Osgood Bradley Wood, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 18, 1984 was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

> Michael Joseph Walsh May 27, 1984 Sydney Eckman Ahlstrom July 3, 1984

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. Both reports were accepted.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Bauer and Mrs. Ireland serving as tellers: R. Dyke Benjamin, Joseph Blumenthal, Paul S. Boyer, Otis Chandler, Edward D. Crowley, James J. Fuld, Anthony Nicholas Brady Garvan, Peter Jack Gay, Frederick W. Hequembourg, E. William Housh, Roger George Kennedy, Ralph Louis Ketcham, Weyman I. Lundquist, Russell E. Manoog, Jane Nylander, Justin G. Schiller, Wallace Earle Stegner, and Herbert M. Varnum.

Mr. Jeppson reported that the total received or pledged to date to the Isaiah Thomas Fund was close to \$4,000,000 and that he was hopeful that the full goal of over \$8,000,000 would be reached by the 175th anniversary of the founding of the Society.

The report of the Committee on Nominations was presented by Mr. Bond as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, John William Ward; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Councillors, Richard Charles Steele, William Henry Bond, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Harold Taylor Miller, Jacob Hiatt, Julian Lee Lapides, David Frederic Tatham, George Thomas Tanselle, Jules David Prown, Robert Cushman, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Kenneth Nebenzahl, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, Betsy Beinecke Shirley, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. The ballot having been cast, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

John Seelye presented a paper entitled "Rational Exultation": The Erie Canal Celebration."

Before adjourning the meeting at 12:25 P.M., President Jeppson congratulated the staff of the Society on the expansion of activities and the increased use of the collections. The meeting was followed by refreshments as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison at 4 Military Road and a luncheon at the Goddard-Daniels House at 190 Salisbury Street.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.