## PROCEEDINGS.

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 15, 1919, AT THE HALL OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

The annual meeting was called to order in Antiquarian Hall, at 10.45 a.m., President Lincoln in the chair.

There were present the following members:

Franklin Bowditch Dexter, Reuben Colton, Henry Herbert Edes, William Eaton Foster, Francis Henshaw Dewey, William Trowbridge Forbes, George Henry Haynes, Arthur Lord, Charles Lemuel Nichols, Waldo Lincoln, Edward Sylvester Morse, George Parker Winship, Samuel Utley, Benjamin Thomas Hill, Daniel Berkeley Updike, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Lincoln Newton Kinnicutt, Worthington Chauncey Ford, Frederick Jackson Turner, Julius Herbert Tuttle, Samuel Bayard Woodward, George Hubbard Blakeslee, Arthur Prentice Rugg, Wilfred Harold Munro, Henry Winchester Cunningham, Frank Farnum Dresser, Rev. Shepherd Knapp, Homer Gage, Livingston Davis, Archer Butler Hulbert, Rev. Herbert Edwin Lombard, Howard Millar Chapin, Grenville Howland Norcross, Thomas Hovey Gage, Charles Francis Jenney, John Whittemore Farwell, Leonard Wheeler, Alexander George McAdie, Nathaniel Thayer Kidder, William Lawrence Clements, Richard Ward Greene, George Anthony Gaskill, John Woodbury, Alfred Lawrence Aiken, Charles Knowles Bolton, John Henry Edmonds, Leonard Leopold Mackall. Samuel Lyman Munson, Robert Kendall Shaw, Harold Marsh Sewall.

The call for the meeting having been read, it was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the last meeting.

The President read the report of the Council, the financial report was read by the Treasurer, Dr. Woodward, and the Librarian's report was read by Mr. Brigham. It was voted, on motion of Mr. Edes, that these papers be accepted as the Report of the Council and referred to the Committee of Publication.

The President appointed Messrs. Blakeslee, Aiken and Colton a committee to collect and count the ballots for new members. They reported the election, as resident members of the following:

Isaac Newton Phelps Stokes, of New York, N. Y. Robert Digges Wimberly Connor, of Raleigh, N. C.

The unanimous election of Waldo Lincoln as President was announced by the committee, Messrs. Edes, Gaskill and Edmonds, appointed by the chair. Messrs. Cunningham, Woodbury and Munson, as a committee to nominate the other officers, reported the following list:

## President

Waldo Lincoln, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

#### Vice-Presidents:

Andrew McFarland Davis, A.M., of Cambridge, Mass.

Arthur Prentice Rugg, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass.

### Councillors:

Granville Stanley Hall, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass. Samuel Utley, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Charles Grenfill Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Francis Henshaw Dewey, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Henry Winchester Cunningham, A.B., of Milton, Mass.

Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Ph.D., of New York, N. Y.

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass. William Howard Taft, LL.D., of New Haven, Conn. George Hubbard Blakeslee, Ph.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Henry Herbert Edes, A.M., of Cambridge, Mass.

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence: James Phinney Baxter, Litt.D., of Portland, Me.

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence: Worthington Chauncey Ford, Litt.D., of Boston, Mass.

## Recording Secretary:

Charles Lemuel Nichols, M.D., Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

## Treasurer:

Samuel Bayard Woodward, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

# Committee of Publication

George Henry Haynes, Ph.D., of Worcester, Mass. Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass. John Henry Edmonds, of Boston, Mass.

## Auditors:

Benjamin Thomas Hill, A. B., of Worcester, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

The above named officers were then unanimously elected by the Society by ballot. The oath was administered to the recording secretary by Judge Forbes.

The secretary then read on recommendation of the Council the Constitution of the American Council of Learned Societies devoted to Humanistic Studies, which was adopted by the society, on motion of Judge Forbes. It was moved, and so voted, that the President appoint delegates to represent this Society in the new

organization. The delegates appointed were Messrs. Hiram Bingham for four years and Frederick J. Turner for two years.

There being no further business, the members listened to the following papers: "Greater New England in the Middle of the Nineteenth Century," by Frederick Jackson Turner, of Cambridge, Mass, and "The Conciliatory Proposition in the Massachusetts Convention of 1788," by George Henry Haynes, of Worcester. A paper by Barrett Wendell, entitled "A Gentlewoman of Boston, 1742-1805", was read by title. It was voted that these papers be referred to the Committee of Publication.

Rev. Herbert Edwin Lombard called the attention of the society to the exhibition of the engraved work of Edwin D. French in the cases in the gallery and emphasized its importance as a contribution to the study of American engraving and bookplates.

Mr. Edes proposed and the Society voted to send the following resolution to Andrew McFarland Davis: "We, the members of the American Antiquarian Society, assembled at our annual meeting, send cordial and affectionate greeting to our honored senior Vice-President, Andrew McFarland Davis. We wish to record an expression of our regret at his absence and of our hope to welcome him at the April meeting in Boston. We miss the genial presence of Mr. Davis. We miss also his participation in our proceedings and his wise counsel in our various discussions and undertakings to which he has always been a generous contributor."

The President invited the members to lunch at his house, 49 Elm Street, at the close of the exercises. There being no further business, the meeting was dissolved.

CHARLES LEMUEL NICHOLS,

Recording Secretary.

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.