PROCEEDINGS ·

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 16, 1929, AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 16, 1929, at 10.45 o'clock, a. m. The meeting was called to order by the Vice-President, Chief Justice Rugg.

The following members of the Society were present: Reuben Colton, Edward Herbert Thompson, John McKinstry Merriam. Francis Henshaw Dewey, William Trowbridge Forbes, George Henry Haynes, Waldo Lincoln, George Parker Winship, Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Victor Hugo Paltsits, Clarence Saunders Brigham, William Coolidge Lane, Edward Luther Stevenson, Julius Herbert Tuttle, Samuel Bayard Woodward, William Vail Kellen, Arthur Prentice Rugg, Samuel Morris Conant, Wilfred Harold Munro, Henry Winchester Cunningham, Shepherd Knapp, Homer Gage, Livingston Davis, Charles Henry Taylor, Herbert Edwin Lombard, Howard Millar Chapin, George Arthur Plimpton, Thomas Hovey Gage, Leonard Wheeler, Alexander George McAdie, George Anthony Gaskill, John Woodbury, Charles Knowles Bolton, Samuel Lyman Munson, Robert Kendall Shaw, Charles Eliot Goodspeed, Francis Russell Hart, Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, Lawrence Counselman Wroth, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Louis Henry Dielman, George Sumner Barton, Thomas Bonaventure Lawler, Charles Alpheus Place, George Francis Booth, Aldus Chapin Higgins, Paul Beagary Morgan, Charles Edward

Banks, Ralph Earle, James Melville Hunnewell, Harry Galpin Stoddard, Charles Martin Thayer, Charles Seabury Hale, Percival Merritt, George Crompton, Robert Lincoln O'Brien.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary. It was voted to dispense with the reading of the records

of the last meeting.

The report of the Council to the Society was then presented by Mr. Waldo Lincoln. In the absence of Mr. Bullock, the Treasurer, his report was presented by Mr. Dewey. Mr. Brigham presented the Librarian's report. On motion of Mr. Cunningham these reports were accepted and referred to the Committee on Publications.

The election of officers being in order, the Vice-President called the attention of the Society to the vacancy in the office of President and said that the Council had given much attention to the filling of that office and proposed for the consideration of the Society, a member of the Society, the Honorable Calvin Coolidge, of Northampton, and read a letter from Mr. Coolidge, expressing his willingness to accept the office, if elected. On motion of Mr. Lincoln it was voted to proceed to the election of the President by ballot. The presiding officer appointed Messrs. Lincoln, Wroth and Goodspeed a committee to distribute. collect and count ballots, who thereupon reported that there were fifty-two votes cast, all for Calvin Coolidge for President and he was declared elected. It was voted that Chief Justice Rugg be requested to notify Mr. Coolidge of his election.

It was voted that the Chair appoint a committee to nominate other officers. The Chair appointed to this committee, Messrs. Kellen, Shaw and Lawler, who reported as follows:

Vice-Presidents

Arthur Prentice Rugg, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass. Clarence Winthrop Bowen, LL.D., of New York, N. Y.

Councillors

Waldo Lincoln, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.
Francis Henshaw Dewey, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.
Henry Winchester Cunningham, A.B., of Boston, Mass.
George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass.
William Howard Taft, LL.D., of Washington, D. C.
Samuel Lyman Munson, of Albany, N. Y.
William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass.
Paul Beagary Morgan, B.S., of Worcester, Mass.
Charles Henry Taylor, of Boston, Mass.
William Evarts Benjamin, of New York, N. Y.

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence
George Hubbard Blakeslee, L.H.D., of Worcester,
Mass.

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass

Recording Secretary
Thomas Hovey Gage, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Committee on Publications
Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass
Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass.

Auditors

Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass. Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

It was voted that the Presiding Officer receive the ballots of those who wished to vote for other officers. All having voted who desired, the above nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was duly sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Francis H. Dewey, a Justice of the Peace.

In behalf of the Council, Mr. Brigham then presented for the consideration of the Society the names

of Maxwell Savage, of Worcester, and Henry W. Kent, of New York, for membership. The Chair appointed Messrs. Merriam, Rockwood and Chapin a committee to distribute, collect and count ballots for new members, who reported that Mr. Savage and Mr. Kent were elected.

The following papers were then presented to the Society: "The Popham Expedition of 1607," by Col. Charles E. Banks, of Brookline, Mass.; "Early Forms of Worship in America," by Charles A. Place, of Sterling, Mass.; and "Some Documents Regarding the African Slave Trade," by George A. Plimpton, of New York. N. 'Y. A communication "Additional Notes on Ratcliff and Ranger Bindings" was submitted by title by Thomas J. Holmes.

At the conclusion of the papers, interesting remarks and comments were made by Mr. Thompson, Mr. Bolton and Mr. McAdie.

At one o'clock the Presiding Officer announced that the Society would be entertained at luncheon at the residence of Mr. Francis H. Dewey, 71 Elm Street, and that automobiles would be found at the door to convey the members.

The meeting then adjourned.

THOMAS HOVEY GAGE, Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.