PROCEEDINGS

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 18, 1939, AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 18, 1939, at 10.45 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the first Vice-president, Charles Henry Taylor.

The following members of the Society were present: George Henry Haynes, George Parker Winship, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Samuel Bayard Woodward. George Hubbard Blakeslee, William Vail Kellen. Shepherd Knapp, Albert Carlos Bates, Charles Henry Taylor, Herbert Edwin Lombard, Lawrence Waters Jenkins, John Woodbury, Robert Kendall Shaw, Fred Norris Robinson, Chandler Bullock, Charles Eliot Goodspeed, Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, Wallace Walter Atwood, Matt Bushnell Jones, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Charles Alpheus Place. George Francis Booth, Paul Beagary Morgan, Russell Sturgis Paine, Thomas James Holmes, James Melville Hunnewell, Abraham S. Wolf Rosenbach, George Crompton, Stephen Willard Phillips, Edward Tuckerman Esty, Reginald Washburn, Wilbur Macey Stone, Robert William Glenroie Vail, Glenn Tilley Morse, Charles Taylor Tatman, Samuel Flagg Bemis, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, William Irving Clark, Frederick Edward Brasch, George Gregerson Wolkins, Howard Corning, Henry Wilder Foote, Allyn Bailey Forbes, Philip Ainsworth Means, Hermann Frederick Clarke. Francis Henshaw Dewey, Lathrop Colgate Harper. Augustus Peabody Loring, Jr., James Duncan Phillips, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Alexander Hamilton Bullock, Theron Johnson Damon, Albert White Rice, Frederick Lewis Weis, Donald McKay Frost, Harry Andrew Wright.

It was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the last meeting.

The report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director, Mr. Brigham; the Treasurer's report by Mr. Bullock; and the Librarian's report by Mr. Vail. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of the President being in order, the Chairman appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs James D. Phillips, Lawrence W. Jenkins, and Donald M. Frost, to distribute, collect and count ballots for the President, who reported that there were fifty-two ballots cast and all for Samuel Eliot Morison, who was thereupon declared elected.

The Chairman then appointed a committee consisting of Messrs. George P. Winship, George G. Wolkins, and Frederick L. Weis to nominate other officers, who reported the following nominations:

Vice-presidents

Charles Henry Taylor, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass.

Councillors

George Parker Winship, Litt. D., of Charles River, Mass. Paul Beagary Morgan, Eng. D., of Worcester, Mass. William Evarts Benjamin, of New York, N. Y. George Sumner Barton, A.B., of Boylston, Mass. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Eng. D., of Worcester, Mass. Matt Bushnell Jones, Litt. D., of Newton Centre, Mass. James Melville Hunnewell, LL.B., of Boston, Mass.

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Russell Sturgis Paine, of Worcester, Mass. Albert White Rice, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Secretary for Foreign and Domestic Correspondence Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Recording Secretary

George Hubbard Blakeslee, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Committee on Publications

Claurence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass. Robert Kendall Shaw, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Auditors

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Reginald Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for the nominees, which being done and no other ballot being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Mr. Charles T. Tatman.

The Chairman, in behalf of the Council, then proposed for membership in the Society:

William McIntire Elkins, Philadelphia, Penn. Clarence Henry Haring, Cambridge, Mass.

The Chairman appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Allyn B. Forbes, Hermann F. Clarke, and Lathrop C. Harper, who reported that fifty ballots had been cast and all for the persons nominated, and they were declared elected.

Papers were then read by Henry W. Foote on "Musical Life in Boston in the Eighteenth Century" and by Frederick E. Brasch on "The Newtonian Epoch in the American Colonies." A paper by Wilbur Macey Stone, on "The History of Little Goody Two-Shoes," was read by title. It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications.

Mr. Brigham reported briefly on the exhibition of articles on display in the Library.

The meeting then adjourned, and the members were entertained at luncheon by Mr. Paul B. Morgan at his house, 21 Cedar Street.

GEORGE HUBBARD BLAKESLEE, Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.