# Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 16, 1940

AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 16, 1940, at 10.45 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President, Samuel Eliot Morison.

The following members of the Society were present: John McKinstry Merriam, George Henry Haynes, George Parker Winship, Victor Hugo Paltsits, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Samuel Bayard Woodward, George Hubbard Blakeslee, William Vail Kellen, Shepherd Knapp, Albert Carlos Bates, Samuel Eliot Morison, Robert Kendall Shaw, Chandler Bullock, Charles Eliot Goodspeed. Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, John Hill Morgan, Wallace Walter Atwood, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, George Sumner Barton, George Francis Booth, Aldus Chapin Higgins, Paul Beagary Morgan, Russell Sturgis Paine, Thomas James Holmes, James Melville Hunnewell, Abraham S. Wolf Rosenbach, George Crompton, Lemucl Aiken Welles, Stephen Willard Phillips, Edward Tuckerman Esty, Reginald Washburn, Joseph Henry Sinclair, Wilbur Macey Stone, Stewart Mitchell, Robert William Glenroie Vail, Edward Alexander Parsons, Charles Taylor Tatman, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, William Irving Clark, John Woodman Higgins, George Gregerson Wolkins, Henry Wilder Foote, Allyn Bailey Forbes, Philip Ainsworth Means, Hermann Frederick Clarke, Francis Henshaw Dewey, Lathrop Colgate Harper, Augustus Peabody Loring, Jr., LeRoy Elwood Kimball, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Alexander Hamilton Bullock, Theron Johnson Damon, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, A bert White Rice, Arthur Meier Schlesinger, and Harry Andrew Wright.

[Oct.,

The Secretary read the call for the meeting.

It was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the last meeting.

The report of the Council of the Society was presented by Mr. Morison; the Treasurer's report by Mr. Bullock; and the Director's report by Mr. Brigham. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of the President being in order, the President appointed a committee, consisting of LeRoy E. Kimball, Joseph H. Sinclair, and Stewart Mitchell, to distribute, collect and count ballots for the President, who reported that there were 50 ballots cast and all for Samuel Eliot Morison, who thereupon was declared elected.

The President then appointed a committee consisting of Messrs. Thomas W. Streeter, Daniel W. Lincoln, and Charles E. Goodspeed to nominate other officers, who reported the following nominations:

# Vice-presidents

William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. Paul Beagary Morgan, Eng.D., of Worcester, Mass.

# Councillors

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Charles River, Mass. Charles Henry Taylor, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. George Sumner Barton, A.B., of Boylston, Mass. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Eng.D., of Worcester, Mass. James Melville Hunnewell, LL.B., of Boston, Mass. Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Russell Sturgis Paine, of Worcester, Mass. Albert White Rice, A.M., of Worcester, Mass. Donald McKay Frost, LL.B., of Dover, Mass. John Hinsdale Scheide, of Titusville, Pa.

## 1940.]

#### PROCEEDINGS

Secretary for Foreign and Domestic Correspondence Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

## Recording Secretary

George Hubbard Blakeslee, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass.

# Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

# Committee on Publications

Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass. Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass. Robert Kendall Shaw, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

## Auditors

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Reginald Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for the nominees, which being done and no other ballot being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Mr. John M. Merriam.

Mr. Brigham, in behalf of the Council, then proposed for membership in the Society:

Wat Tyler Cluverius, Worcester, Mass. John W. Garrett, Baltimore, Md. Everett D. Graff, Chicago, Ill. Bernhard Knollenberg, New Haven, Conn.

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Clifford K. Shipton, Keyes D. Metcalf, and Philip A. Means, who reported that fifty ballots had been cast and all for the persons nominated, and they were declared elected. Papers were then read by Edward A. Parsons on "Jean Lafitte in the War of 1812," and by John Hill Morgan on "John Watson— Painter, Merchant, and Capitalist." It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications.

Mr. Brigham reported briefly on the exhibition of early examples of American sheet music on display in the Library.

The meeting then adjourned, and the members were entertained at luncheon by Mr. Aldus C. Higgins, at his house, John Wing Road.

> GEORGE HUBBARD BLAKESLEE, Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.